Car seat Laws & Rec's
Unfortunately car crashes are the primary cause of death in children, and studies show that children are more protected in a crash when rear facing.
I'm sure you have heard the buzz and seen the social media chatter! The American Academy of Pediatrics has updated their car seat guidelines. They now recommend that your child stay rear facing for as long as possible... until they outgrow the rear facing limits of their car seat.... because physics. The previous recommendation was that your child rear face until two.
New Jersey's car seat law changed in 2015. It now says that :
A child under 2 years old AND (not or) under 30 lbs must be rear facing in a five point harness.
A child under 4 AND 40 lbs must at least be in a forward facing five point harness.
A child under age 8 AND 57 inches must be in a belt positioning booster.
Any child who is over age 8 and 57 inches must be secured in a seat belt.
Now this law is the minimum requirements to avoid a ticket in New Jersey. The recommendations are much more pro-rear facing longer. My toddler is 2 years old and 27 lbs. She cannot safely or LEGALLY ride forward facing.
Some of you remember our infamous car seat safety graphic. I have updated it to include the most recent AAP recommendations as well as the most current New Jersey laws